Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,901   Posts: 1,584,419   Online: 784

Shooter
    Medium Format

Loading a Zenit B

Forgive me if this is really obvious and i'm asking a dumb question but...how do i load this thing? I'm used to there being a spool on the other side with a hole to slot the film into. But that's not the case here.

And being a skint student i don't really want to waste what film i have experimenting til i get it right

So a heads up would be great. I've included the photo for better/easier explaining. Cheers!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_0663.jpg  

Shooter
    Multi Format
    You must put film end under metallic catch - you can see it in the left side of spool- and then as usual.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Thanks! Didn't realise that was a clip. Now i feel dafter than i did for asking in the first place.

But there's something else now i've loaded the film. I'm looking at the winder with the film sensitivity numbers on top. I've turned it to what i think is 400ISO though there is only 250, followed by two dots and then 500. Am i right to put it to between the two dots? I've looked at manuals online but nothing seems to say how to work this bit. I'm a bit puzzled to say the least.

dmb

Shooter
    35mm
    Pulled my very old Zenith E off the shelf. Either my eyes are getting old or I dont have any dots between 250 and 500. Not to worry there should be markings for DIN settings on the other side - 400 ISO(or ASA as was) is 27 Din - but if it is a Zenith B then that dial is just a reminder as it has no built in meter, so you will need to use an exposure meter or an exposure guide.
    Last edited by dmb; 01-27-2012 at 12:32 PM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: Additional info

Shooter
    Medium Format