Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,943   Posts: 1,557,674   Online: 1190

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Nikon F2 question on metering?

Hi,
    Question is: When I'm indoors the light meter will respond to 2 varying light sources by fluctuating up and down accordingly, depending on aperture and speed etc. But as soon as I step out into bright sunlight the meter pegs over to overexposed, regardless of aperture and speed. I'm new to this F2, my old Pentax meters great outdoors.
    It's most likely operator confusion!
    Thanks much 2bits

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Not likely operator confusion, if you're varying aperture and speed settings. The camera's meter should be able to handle that range in EV without problems. More likely the meter needs attention, I'm afraid. Are interior shots properly exposed?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    What film speed have you set on the camera?
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I've gone the whole range. Here's the bizarre part, I just changed out the 50mm lens for a 80-200mm Soligor made for Nikon and the system meters properly outdoors! I'm definitely doing something wrong?

Shooter
    35mm
    What specific model of viewfinder do you have on your F2?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    The 50mm 1:2 is a standard nikon lens. I wonder if I'm improperly mounting the lens?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Are you turning the lens to the largest aperture after mounting to index it?
    www.EASmithV.com