Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,224   Posts: 1,532,579   Online: 987

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Nikon 85mm f1.4 AIS or Zuiko 100mm f2

I have a Nikon FM2n and Olympus OM2n and I want a portrait lens, I'm undecided between these two. I walked into the camera store and found, what I think, are very good prices for both of these lenses ($395 for Nikkor and $594.95 for Zuiko).

How do these compare in terms of bokeh and sharpness? Or is it really 85mm FOV vs 100mm FOV. I have no experience with a telephoto so I'm not sure which FOV I'd prefer.

Shooter
    35mm
    What about the zuiko 85/2? Really sharp, gives you apples to apples focal length comparison. Slower, but said to be one of the sharpest Zuikos. Of course, if you will shoot in bright light, maybe go Nikon to take advantage of the higher shutter speed 1/4000 vs. 1/1000 on the FM2n.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    A sharp lens isn't always the best choice for portraits.
    Dave

"She's always out making pictures, She's always out making scenes.
    She's always out the window, When it comes to making Dreams.

It's all mixed up, It's all mixed up, It's all mixed up."

From It's All Mixed Up by The Cars

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Yeah actually I did think about the Zuiko 85mm f2, it's been on my mind, and I was going to start looking for one of those or possibly a Zuiko 100mm f2.8, but today when I walked into the camera store I saw two steller portrait lenses. I didn't really look into the Nikon so much but the Zuiko 100mm f2 sells closer to 1k from what I've read. So it seemed to be a better deal.

I think 85mm is a better focal length in this format because I have a better chance of holding it at a slower shutter speed (maybe) and it is probably a better walk-around lens. I might go for that one or maybe a Zuiko 85mm f2.