Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,760   Posts: 1,516,019   Online: 938

Shooter
    35mm

Pentax SMC lenses do not require UV Filters. Any other makes the same?

I am not one for filters but sometimes think that the haze in some negative images might be reduced by a UV or skylight filter. Pentax SMC lenses, according to the makers, are "opaque to UV radiation". I have just bought a Pentax MX plus 50mm SMC to have a go with but how do other makes fair with UV? The only times I use a filter normally is a skylight for slide film or a yellow filter for black and white. I don't use filters to protect the lens. I also read that modern films are not particularly sensitive to UV.

Dave

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    i am not a lens designer, but the best I can tell, UV filters do nothing for color film. Atmospheric haze is usually visible in the normal spectrum in the form of dust, smog, and mist. I have never seen a "with uv filter/without" example that was not doctored.

It may be that pentax lenses have a coating that blocks UV light. But I dont think any lens really needs a UV filter unless you are using old-school film that may be oversensitive to UV.
    Go not to the elves for counsel, for they will say both yes and no.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Most glass itself attenuates most UV. I think the only reason to ever use a UV filter is to protect the more expensive lens and then only in certain environments (ocean spray, shooting close ups of long tongued dogs, whatever.)

Shooter
    35mm
    Hello,
    the use of an UV-filter is recommended only: 1) with older lenses with only single or without any coating, 2) with lenses with only 3 or 4 lenses, 3) if you are in high areas above sea level, I think over 3000 mtr. 4) in bright sunshine at sea, 5) to protect the front lens.