Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,527   Posts: 1,543,950   Online: 1073

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

AF camera for handheld portraits: Contax G1/G2 vs Nikon F100

I'm looking for an autofocus camera for handheld portraits. I'm debating between the Contax G1/G2 and Nikon F100.

I have limited experience with autofocus cameras so I'm not so sure on what I really need/want. All advice is welcome.

Here is a list of my priorities and an idea of my shooting style:
    -I shoot available light but I also have interest in getting into off camera strobes.
    -I want a strong 45mm/50mm, then 35mm & 85mm/90mm but no strong interest in anything shorter or longer.
    -I intend on using AF primarily/exclusively so lack of manual focusing abilities isn't a big deal.
    -Noise, weight, and size is not a big deal but I prefer quieter, smaller, and lighter.

I have not held any of these cameras but this is my thinking:
    -Available light: Contax
    -Quality of lenses for my desired focal lengths: Contax (this ofcourse depends on my budget...is very debatable and not my interest to discuss so heavily in this thread)
    -Viewfinder: Nikon.
    -Autofocus: Nikon.
    -Size/Weight/Noise: Contax

My questions:
    1. How does the AF compare? I haven't looked so much into the specifications but I believe Nikon has multiple focus points and AF modes. How about the Contax, just one AF mode/point? Does the Contax have any sort off viewfinder confirmation?

2 How does the build quality compare? I hear that Nikon is more plastic and the Contax is titanium. I'm not so against plastic cameras but I don't like cheap-feeling ones. I have a Nikon D70 and I think the build is not-so-bad, would I expect the F100 to be comparable?

3. Anyone comment on using an AF RF vs an AF SLR? Or have experience with both these cameras?