Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,481   Posts: 1,542,709   Online: 971

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Replacing the Olympus OM-1 for the Leica R8

I'm thinking in replacing my Olympus OM-1n for the R8 as my main SLR and I would love to have your advice on that.

I know is difficult to compare two different cameras, but what's your point of view interms of quality?
    I'm relatively new to film and I don't have a shooting style yet. I'm shooting with the OM-1, Rolleicord Vb, and Yashica Lynx 14E. Weigh or size is not an issue for me.
    Thank you in advance to everyone.

Shooter
    35mm
    Never own a Leica. The price of the body didn't really scare me but the price of their lenses did.

Shooter
    35mm
    What do you like or need from an R8? And what don't you like about the OM1?i

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    I have never owned a Leica SLR, but I would have thought Olympus V Leica is a bit like comparing a Ford with a Rolls Royce. Having said that, cameras don't take pictures, people do.

“The contemplation of things as they are, without error or confusion, without substitution or imposture, is in itself a nobler thing than a whole harvest of invention”

Francis Bacon

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Les Sarile View Post
    What do you like or need from an R8? And what don't you like about the OM1?i
    Thanks for the prompt reply!

What I like from R8 (based on articles and a little bit of research).

- Handling. I have big hands and I found myself using the winder all the time on my OM-1