Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,772   Posts: 1,516,565   Online: 920

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Giving up my Nikon f100?

Hey guys! newbie to the forum here. Just wanted to ask your opinion something I've been mulling over in my head. I have a nikon F100 that I love and have had some great shots with, but It's size gets in the way for me. I'm a college student and I don't want to lug it around all the time with my schoolbag. As you guys know, there's no point in having the camera if I never have it around to shoot with haha.

Point is, I've been eyeing this little Olympus om2n w/50 1.8 at my local camera shop. It's in near mint condition and at about $100 it's not out of my price range, plus I can still pick up a couple other lenses on KEH for pretty cheap. I've been thinking about selling my f100 and just buying it since it's so damn small compared to what I've been using. Seems like it'd be a nice match for me. what do y'all think?

thanks you guys

Shooter
    Multi Format
    It's really a personal thing. I can't tell you to eat oranges if you don't like'em! I have THREE F-100 because I like them so much. It's big and rather heavy but not too bad.

Olympus are fine cameras. I had an OM10 way back in my youth. Are you sure you'll want to give up all the automation and go back to pretty much everything manual? No auto focus, no matrix metering, no auto winding without winder attachment, etc, etc, etc? If so, go right ahead....

Another thing... if weight and size of F100 bothers you, any decent SLR isn't going to be THAT much lighter and smaller. To me, it doesn't make any practical difference.
    Develop, stop, fix.... wait.... where's my film?

Shooter
    Multi Format