Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,283   Posts: 1,535,005   Online: 1044

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Experimental techniques: Manipulating and 'destroying' film

Hey all

I'm a designer and amateur photographer. Aside from my Nikon DSLR I also shoot with an analog FM2n using 35mm film.

What I'm interested in is experimenting with manipulating film in order to achieve unusual results. I'm talking warping the film substrate, applying household chemicals, heating it, freezing it etc... I'm interested in 'destroying' the film; altering the chemical nature of it in order to create visually interesting results.

I'm going to experiment with a variety of things, but I wanted to first ask around to see if there are any pointers. I realize this is quite an unusual question and I'm not sure how to phrase it in a google search, but if anyone knows what might elicit interesting results, what to shoot with the film etc... I'd love to hear!

Thanks for reading
    K

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I did this sort of thing many years ago and found boiling the film produced interesting effects. Done too long and the emulsion completely comes off so you need to pay close attention.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    I remember years ago squirting lighter fluid onto slides and then setting them alight. You quickly blow out the flames and you have a distorted slides with weird colours. Kodak used to mount their slides in cardboard mounts and these worked better than plastic mounts. You could also hold the slide over a candle wich give you a little more control.

Shooter
    35mm
    Those are some interesting ideas - would never have thought to boil the film. Lighter fluid's a good shout also
    Thanks!

AgX

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I'm surprised by the answers so far. I thought "destroying" film would be considered blasphemy here...