Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,220   Posts: 1,532,307   Online: 895

Page 1 of 8 1234567 ... LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

How damaged is your lens coating???

I am a pro-- I have earned 100% of my income via image making since 1989.
    Anyway, I have used all manner of equipment, and my Hasselblad glass is still blemish free!
    BUT my new 16-35mm Nikkor has gotten quite a coating blemish(s) from rough/carless use recently.
    I usually scoff at people selling highly blemished Leica glass saying "does not effect images" as if this were the case why not send lenses out with blems from the factory.

I have prepared to send the lens to Nikon for repair/replacement of front element.
    I shot an assignment (partly) with this lens this morning in a high flair situation... and at least in this instance I can not find evidence in image.

Shall I wait to send it till I do? They are ugly central blemishes. I would rate the lens as a 5 on a 1-10 scale right now. I had a 20mm with a blem that showed up in images 20 years ago. Not really looking for answers/advice... Just wondering what the nastiest lens blem some of you have trusted your income with?

Cheers.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by vpwphoto View Post
    I am a pro-- I have earned 100% of my income via image making since 1989.
    Anyway, I have used all manner of equipment, and my Hasselblad glass is still blemish free!
    BUT my new 16-35mm Nikkor has gotten quite a coating blemish(s) from rough/carless use recently.
    I usually scoff at people selling highly blemished Leica glass saying "does not effect images" as if this were the case why not send lenses out with blems from the factory.

I have prepared to send the lens to Nikon for repair/replacement of front element.