Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,869   Posts: 1,583,300   Online: 1122

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: worth keeping?

Shooter
    35mm

worth keeping?

Yesterday I picked up a used Rokinon 80-200 F4.5 with a pentax K mount, manual, for 10.00. I didn't notice until I got home that it is stuck wide open. Is it worth holding onto at that point?

Although I am still learning my shooting technique and photographic style, very rarely do I go above 6.5 or so. My initial intention for this lens is to try my hand at railroad photography. I do have a 50mm prime, but it would be handy to have something longer.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    At that price I'd try and fix it myself, I have done similar in the past. It's not one of the good 3rd party makes but it might be OK.

Ian

Shooter
    35mm
    I popped the back off last night but I am not sure where exactly the pressure is coming from to close the aperture.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    It might not be a pressure problem per-se. It may just need some lube, in the appropriate spots. Maybe just a cla vs repair.
    Get it right in the camera, the first time... My flickr
    Peter Carter

Shooter
    35mm
    For what it is, F4.5 through its zoom range, its worth a shot. At the very least if it is a poor lens, I have one to learn about optic repair on. With rail photography, itll be hard to get everything tack sharp with a fast moving object. Looking at the F stop in my copy of "The art of Railroad Photography" most of the photos are f4 to 5.6. There are a few non-train but railroad related photos with a higher F stop, but those are done from 50mm and wider.

mrred, where can I find information on how to lube lenses properly?

Shooter
    Multi Format