Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,296   Posts: 1,535,684   Online: 1017

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images

3.5cm f/3.5 Elmar -- a special lens?

I have, like many others, a 5cm f/3.5 Elmar for my LTM Leica or Canon body, so know the lens pretty well. But I've no experience with the LTM Elmar 35mm f/3.5 wide angle lens. I've come across one at a shop, but they're asking nearly $600! I'll admit it's pretty clean, but it's not a nickel lens so not special on that point. My primary interest in acquiring one is to use it, not just look at it, but I'm having a hard time justifying to myself spending that amount of money. What do y'all think -- is that a reasonable price for this lens? (I note that to set his price the seller checked that fount of knowledge -- Completed Auctions on e*ay, and decided that what one buyer paid sets the benchmark for the value of this lens for sale.)

Shooter
    35mm

Country boy

I am a country boy myself but I took a gander at "sold" listings for the lens on EB** and found prices of $456, $194 and $504. I don't know the difference between "completed" and "sold" so I am not sure this helps.

Shooter
    35mm
    I think you would get more response in the 'rangefinder' forum.

That said there are a other options for 35mm in LTM mount. You could look for a used CV Color Skopar f2.5 in LTM, should be less than the Elmar even though one stop faster and much newer. I have the CV Skopar in M mount and it is really very good. Very high resolution with good contrast. Many seem to like the Canon LTM lenses. Right now KEH has an EX condition 35mm f2.8 Canon with aux viewfinder and case for $349, so there are options in that FL.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by snapguy View Post