Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,898   Posts: 1,521,032   Online: 736

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

FM3a user and new to this forum, saying "hi." Hmm, new lenses, anyone?

Hi,

New user saying "hello."

Very happy with my FM3a. Are there many users of this system here? What do you like about yours in this age of [affordable] automatic SLRs? Do you ever wish it had a spot meter (or 100% VF, or mirror-lockup, or...) instead of the 60/40% meter?

I'm new to 35mm and have just 2 lenses: 50mm f/1.2 AI-S and 28-70mm f/2.8 ED IF AF-S. The AF-S lens has a nice feel to its focus ring, but I really prefer the way the 50mm focuses, so not sure if I will be buying any more AF-S (or even AF) lenses. I'm mostly into portrait photography at this point, and find myself lacking a 85mm or 105mm (or even 135mm) lens. What do you recommend? Should I get the 80-200mm f/2.8 AF-S (used only at this point) to go with my 28-70mm (for future expansion to AF body) or do you suggest something else?

Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I much prefer prime lenses. I would get either an 85mm or a 105mm for portraits, and skip the 80-200mm. I have one zoom, and the negs just don't have the same sharpness, somehow. If money is an issue, try KEH.

Welcome to APUG, and enjoy yoru time here.

Shooter
    Large Format
    If you’re doing portraits, consider the 105/1.8 or 85/1.8 manual focus Nikkors. They’re only available used, but they can give great selective focus, and both are very sharp. Check that they are AI, or have been modified to AI.
    —Eric

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images