Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,302   Posts: 1,536,229   Online: 701

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Fully-Manual Camera ala Nikon FM3

Hey guys, I'm new here - I really enjoy this website.

I'm new to photography, and I've been doing quite a bit of research lately. I found my dream camera, the Nikon FM3A. After drooling over it for several days, I've about decided I can't afford it. I'm hoping some of you could reccommend a different one. I've looked into buying used, but I've decided that isn't the route I want to take. The main criterion is that it needs to be fully-manual, with no auto-focus or flash, etc.

Anyone have any ideas? I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks,

Mark

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I know that you want to avoid used, but the cameras you are looking for are almost exclusively available used at this point. I don't know of another camera, except for used, that has the features you want for less money than the FM3A. One option to consider would be to look at KEH.com at a used FM2 or FE2. The FM2 is all manual exposure and the FE2 is aperture preferred auto or manual and they are both manual focus. The FM3A is roughly a combination of these two cameras. KEH sells these cameras in excellent condition (meaning almost new) for around $300 for the body and it would include a 14 day return and 60 day warranty. KEH has a great reputation around here, you can find out more about them by doing a search of the archives.

The only other thing I can think of is the FM10 from Nikon and it sells for about $220 with a zoom lens. It is a lot cheaper and flimsier than the FM3A and does not have the advanced features, but it is manual focus.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images