Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,713   Posts: 1,514,713   Online: 852

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

complete beginner's SLR?

hi,

i just discovered this site about a week ago...
    i'm interested in learning photography..

so i want to buy myself a nice beginner's SLR.
    bear in mind that i dont know ANYTHING about slr cameras..
    ive never used one before, and i dont really know anyone who could teach me, so i think im just going to try to self-teach myself with some books and internet resources...

what kind of cameras would you recommend?
    what kind of features do i need? (or dont need?)

thanks!!

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    There are many possible answers here...I just tell you on what equipment I learned....

I learned photography on a Canon Elan IIE. You could leave it fully automatic, but I forced myself to use it in completely manual mode most of the time. Although the lenses are auto-focus, you can switch them over to manual focus as well. (Used Elan II bodies are available at keh.com for less than $100.)

I started with a cheap zoom lens, eventually tried other lenses, and what I learned is that (for me) I prefer wide-angle to telephoto.

You might want to invest in a tripod...you will quickly find out that it's easy to take blurred shots with slower shutter speeds you get with overcast conditions and slow lenses.

Finally, if you hear the term "mirror lockup", it's not some fatal defect in the camera -- it's a feature which allows the mirror to move out of the way of the lens a few seconds before the shutter releases - the motion of the mirror can cause the camera to shake leading to blurred shots. It can be useful in macro shots...the Elan II had this feature.

Just mentioning how one photographer learned....you will get other opinions I bet (ha!).