Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,535,869   Online: 959

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Opions on Neopan 1600?

I'm thinking of taking my film camera along with me to the next gig I'm shooting and would be keen to try out something like this... any opinions on the Neopan ISO1600? It would be cool to get a few great film shots along with my usual digital work that I have to use.

FYI I'm pretty new to the film world, or more like, have just come back so my film experience at the mo is mainly with Astia...

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    not related to the film you are testing, but if you are shooting concert picks, where there are "white" spotlights on the musicians on a dark stage, be careful about letting your camera pick the exposure. It will almost always compensate for the dark background and you'll end up with faces of (causcasian) performers totally overexposed. I learned this the hard way, and ruined some otherwise good pictures.

If you are in a similar circumstance, you could manually drop your exposure a stop or stop and a half, or, I guess you could lessen your development time to compensate.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    thanks for tip so far my experience with the EOS3 has shown it to have awesome metering but I'll keep that in mind, the singer I'm shooting is part Maori so she has slightly darker skin which will hopefully help!

Shooter
    35mm
    Hi there. I would have to recommend this film, if speed is what you are looking for. The Ilford 3200 film is pretty marvelous too. They are quite contrasty by nature, so careful metering is essential, but the Neopan's grain is so well behaved. If possible, do try to shoot at least one test roll before anything critical.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images