Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,533   Posts: 1,572,710   Online: 806

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: light meter

Shooter
    35mm

light meter

Hi all
    I am new here and think this site is the cats whiskers. I hope you can help me. I am new to photography and still learning. I was out with a buddy a couple of days ago and he gave me his light meter to use. I took some readings but I did'nt know what to do with them . I was too embarressed to ask. I hope you guys can help, I know this is basic stuff but it would clear up a lot.
    If I take a meter reading in bright sunshine am I right to assume that the reading given refers to a medium grey? And if I meter in the shadows any reading will give me the same medium grey reading? Am I making sense?
    Appreciate all replies. Pete

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Most light meters do read for a middle grey (18%, Zone V) for whatever they are pointed at. Some meters may be slightly different, though.

If you're just starting out, try metering and using the reccomended settings. I typically meter towards the shadows of the scene so there will be sufficient details on the negative in those areas.

Then just dial those settings in on the camera and go.

You may also want to try to bracket (expose some higher and lower than what the meter says), just to get a feel for what happens with exposure. You'll get the hang of it pretty quickly.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    Have you still got the light meter?

If yes, then post the manufacturer and the model number and we'll step you through how to use it.

By the way, welcome!

Mike

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Just a quick clarification of the middle gray idea - I don't know if it was clear from the previous post. The simplest (and somewhat oversimplified) way of looking at it is this: