Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,974   Posts: 1,523,628   Online: 1071

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Newbie: Getting the film out without rewinding??

Hi,

I'm really a newbie to analogue photography and never developed my film on my own. Two weeks ago I started shooting with b/w film but I didn't develop it, now I want to try it...

I bought a book for this, which answers the most questions but there are still a few questions left... The most important: How to get the film out of the camera without rewinding the film completely?
    Ok, I could just open the camera in the darkroom after the shooting but I don't want to have the whole film hanging in the air while spooling it in the spiral, so I achieve to have the film rewinded, but not completely. (there should be a short end left to pull the film out piece by piece as I spool it in the spiral)

My Camera is very old: A Minolta 7000 (It's from my father)

Any suggestions? Please help!

thanks in advance, Andy

PS: I know, my english is not the very best...

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    There's a little tool you can buy that looks something like a tin opener. It allows you to take the ends off a 35mm cartridge so you can get at the film once you've wound it back. You can avoid that if you rewind very carefully as you can tell when the film disengages from the right hand end - you'll know because you suddenly don't feel any resistance.

Euan

PS Welcome to the world of film photography!

DBP

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images