Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,338   Posts: 1,537,649   Online: 986
      
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    marcsv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    61

    F100 focus problem

    I've been noticing that my photos are a bit out of focus. Is there a way to calibrate the camera without bringing it to a service center?

  2. #2
    Amund's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Oslo,Norway
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    902
    Images
    68
    No.... But have you tried different lenses, manual focus? Does the problem happen regardless of lens ect?
    Amund
    __________________________________________
    -Digital is nice but film is like having sex with light-

  3. #3
    marcsv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    61
    yep i've tried variable focal lengths and primes, auto and manual focus. Someone told me that I can calbrate the diopter by setting my focus to infinity and adjust manually. I don't know how effective this is. I'm sure that the problem is with the F100, I've tried the same set of lenses with my F80 and FE, no problems there.BTW, I've already disabled the "closest object focus" option in the custom settings.

  4. #4
    Amund's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Oslo,Norway
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    902
    Images
    68
    You can calibrate the diopter by taking the lens off,hold it against the sky or a light and adjust it until the focus points in the viewfinder are sharp and clear. But that of course doesn`t affect the AF..
    Amund
    __________________________________________
    -Digital is nice but film is like having sex with light-

  5. #5
    PhotoJim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Regina, SK, CA
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    2,221
    How do you have the focus mode set on the back of the camera? Single sensor or multisensor? If you want to absolutely control what gets focussed, you need to lock it into single sensor mode. (Select the most appropriate sensor manually.)

    I assume you have the camera in single servo mode (on the front by the lens mount) and not continuous AF. Continuous is only suitable for moving subjects.

    If neither of these is the problem, it sounds like it's time for servicing.

    The diopter adjustment on the back is for you, not for image focus on film. It only affects the sharpness of the image in the viewfinder. You can set it so that you don't have to wear glasses, e.g.
    Jim MacKenzie - Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

    A bunch of Nikons; Feds, Zorkis and a Kiev; Pentax 67-II (inherited from my deceased father-in-law); Bronica SQ-A; and a nice Shen Hao 4x5 field camera with 3 decent lenses that needs to be taken outside more. Oh, and as of mid-2012, one of those bodies we don't talk about here.

    Favourite film: do I need to pick only one?

  6. #6
    marcsv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    61
    thanks guys i 'll just bring it to the service center



 

APUG PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Contact Us  |  Support Us!  |  Advertise  |  Site Terms  |  Archive  —   Search  |  Mobile Device Access  |  RSS  |  Facebook  |  Linkedin