Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,707   Posts: 1,482,862   Online: 963

Shooter
    Large Format

difference between Contax T* and T*MM ???

So, I'm kinda new to the Contax line of 35mm cameras and lenses. Can somebody please explain the difference between the Contax T* and Contax T*MM lens models? What does the MM mean? Is there any practical difference between the two?

Thanks in advance.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    T* denotes Zeiss lens multi-coating. Zeiss T* multicoating is employed on current Zeiss G series and other Zeiss 35mm rangefinder lenses.

Zeiss T* multi-coating is also employed on the Zeiss Contax 35mm SLR lenses and on the Medium Format Zeiss Hassleblad and Rollei lenses.

MM refers to the Zeiss Contax MM/AE-Series Lenses (35mm Contax SLR lens mount).

See: http://www.contaxusa.com/lenses.asp?itemnum=123000

See:
    Tom Hoskinson

Everything is analog - even digital :D

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Zeiss lenses for Contax are available secondhand in two versions, AE and MM. AE versions are older versions from before Contax bodies did have a Program mode. Later bodies, if I'm correct from the 159 MM onwards do have a Program mode, in which the camera will chose both aperture and shutterspeed. These models also have shutterspeed prioritymode. Optically both AE and MM versions are identical for most if not all lenses. So if you shoot aperturepriority or manually both versions will serve you the same.

Naaldvoerder

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images