Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,267   Posts: 1,534,343   Online: 785

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: canon advice

Shooter
    35mm

canon advice

After a couple of years shooting film with an old nikon and digital with a canon drebel, I think its time to go for a canon film body so that I don't wind up having to double the lens collection. Does anyone here shoot with a canon film rebel? I've only handled one a couple times and honestly they felt cheap and light, is the elan a better bet, and how much functionality would I really be giving up by choosing a rebel over the elan or gaining choosing the elan over the rebel?

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I had (still have but have not used in a long time) an Elan 7e that I liked alot. I moved up to an EOS3, which I cannot recommend highly enough. I have no experience with the Rebel so cannot compare it to the Elan, but I think you get some extra things like a stop down button on the elan that is missing on the Reb. Maybe a few more shooting modes too.

web site: Dan Henderson, Photographer.com

blog: https://danhendersonphotographer.wordpress.com/

I am not anti-digital. I am pro-film.

Shooter
    35mm
    Thank you for the reply. Somehow I thought one of the rebels had a stop down button, but that would be an extremely nice feature. Does your elan have miror lock up? Also, any advice about a macro lens or which one would be appreciated. I'm looking at the 100mm version but would also consider some of the 3rd party lenses if they are up to snuff.

Shooter
    Multi Format