Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,765   Posts: 1,484,090   Online: 1005

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Russian lenses?

Shooter
    35mm

Russian lenses?

How many people own a Russian made 35mm lens?
    Comments abouit the quality would be appreciated.

I've been looking at a MIR M-42 on ebay. Im just not sure I want to experiment with old Russian technology.

The lens was priced to sell, it just may be worth the buy. Im at a cross -roads.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I recently was bitten by the Russian/Ukranian camera bug. Thus far, I've felt free to experiment freely since the cost is low and the results, thus far, have been very pleasing.

I have no experience with the MIR. I have a couple of Kiev's that I enjoy using even though "state-of-the-art" they are not. They are very 1930's technology but they're fun. I have several normal lenses for the Kiev's--Jupiter-8 and Helios-103--some are poor at wide apertures but get better stopped down and some are very good across the board. I especially like the Jupiter-8. I also have two 39mm Leica thread mount lenses--Industar-22 and Industar-61LD. I use these on Leica M bodies with adapters and, I must admit, both are excellent lenses. The Industar-22 is over 50 years old and flares wildly under backlit conditions but it makes some nice images under normal conditions.

I believe all the Russian/Ukranian lenses made after WWII were based on Zeiss designs although they made lots of cameras that were Leica copies. The Industar-22 I have looks like a collapsible Elmar but, inside, it is reportedly a Tessar design. Those more experienced than myself agree there is a lot of variation in the quality of the lenses from sample to sample but good ones are really good.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    The Ru lenses are ok they are real cheap. They may have been loved or mistreated...

Noel

Ole
    Shooter