Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,871   Posts: 1,583,327   Online: 1100

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Focusing Help

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Focusing Help

I used to be pretty good at this, but lately I've been having a bunch of my shots come out of focus. I'm using an old Argus SLR (STL 1000) from the early 1970s and I've been using it since the early 1970s. The out of focus part is a recent phenomenon. I have a couple of suspects, and maybe some of you have run into this before or have suggestions.

1. I'm a bit older now than I was in 1973 so my eyes just aren't doing what they're supposed to do
    2. I bought a new lens for the camera recently, it's a 28mm 3.5 vs. the 50mm 2.8 I'm used to.
    3. It's winter and many of my questionable shots are indoors with flash and there just isn't enough light to focus properly.
    4. I've been wearing glasses my whole life, and while my vision isn't bad, I've gotten progressively more farsighted since the last time I really used this camera.

I have one of those rubber eye cup viewfinder attachments, but it doesn't accommodate my glasses.

I suppose I could just wait for summer, stop down and take advantage of depth of field, but darn it, I used to be good at this.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
    Louis
    (Paladin1420)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Louis, this is strange. Your 28mm lens will have a greater DOF than the 50 and I would have thought that your focussing would have to be way off - even at max. aperture. Is any part of the picture in sharp focus? As a test you could measure the distance manually and set the focus scale accordingly and check the results off BOTH lenses.

Regards - Allan.
    I'm into painting with light - NOT painting by numbers!

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Allan Swindles View Post