Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,870   Posts: 1,583,321   Online: 1140

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Using polarizer w/ Cokin ND grad filter? (Galen Rowell style)

Considering the amount of frames I've shot, I have a somewhat embarrassing newbie type question regarding using a polarizer with the Cokin P type ND grad filters at the same time. I know Galen Rowell used the ND grads extensively to get his slides to have correct exposure in the sky...while bringing out the detail in the (darker) land below. I am slowly learning to do this as well, and match the needed density to the sky.

Does anyone know if he (or please share what you do?) stacked a large Cokin style round polarizer filter in the filter holder behind the ND grad(s)? Or is it better to get a smaller screw-in Hoya type Polarizer filter of say 62mm for my favorite lens, and then screw the Cokin adaptor ring into the polarizer filter that's already on the lens? I'm not sure if that would cause too much vignetting or other problems?

Hope that makes sense what I'm asking...kind of confusing, I know.
    Thanks,
    Jed

Shooter
    Med. Format Pan
    You'll find that a polarizer will produce un-even sky exposures; 6 additional glass surfaces, front and back, will cause flare (due to light reflecting between surfaces - loss of contrast), loss of transmitted light, and loss of image resolution. Are you willing to sacrifice?
    "Pictures are not incidental frills to a text; they are essences of our distinctive way of knowing." Stephen J. Gould

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Thanks for the reply on this.
    The degradation of image quality may not be acceptable to me. Perhaps he never used a polarizer stacked with ND grad, maybe just one or the other? I will have to experiment a little on this.