Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,697   Posts: 1,549,085   Online: 1101

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Carrying around your film

I am relatively new to this and have quite a few films that I like to have with me at all times. I carry my camera with me in the car everywhere and likewise it makes sense to have the film with me. If I want to use a different film for the given situation, I simply do a manual mid-roll rewind and put another roll in.

The problem is that it's quite hot and I know film does not like the heat. Surely there must be others who carry their film around with them...how do you protect it from heat while in the car? Do you bring it in with you everywhere?

Thanks,
    Nick

P.S. I tried to search but am finding the search function on this site very useless for some reason. I know how to search but I swear it pulls up the same stuff no matter what I search for.
    Kodachrome
    They give us those nice bright colors
    They give us the greens of summers
    Makes you think all the world's a sunny day, oh yeah.
    -Paul Simon

Shooter
    Multi Format
    When it really hot, like today-112, I keep film in a cooler around 80 degrees, a little ice in baggy in a baggy, not too cold and you might get condensation. I also keep a roll or 2 in my camera bag, on the camera strap, which I carry with me when I am out shooting. But I also keep a camera in my trunk or the back of my SUV and a roll of film in my pocket just in case.

Shooter
    35mm
    I use Film-Stor boxes from Porter's - http://tinyurl.com/3wnax8

Six rolls to a box and it fits in your back pocket. Not perfect but they get the job done.

fwiw, Pete

Shooter
    Multi Format