Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,826   Posts: 1,581,985   Online: 855
      
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Markok765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Posts
    2,270
    Blog Entries
    1
    Images
    24

    What lenses can/can't I use with a standard F5?

    I pretty much just can't use those lenses that have "rabbit ears" or that metal thing that sticks up to couple the aperture?
    Marko Kovacevic
    Blog
    Youtube

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Italia
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    4,680
    Check the manual. Should have a list of older lenses that can't be mounted. IIRC AI etc lenses can be used on a F5 but you lose metering. But some older lenses don't mount .Wide angles mostly I think.

  3. #3
    keithwms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    6,079
    Blog Entries
    20
    Images
    129
    There are a number of good books on the F5. I am thinking there is one by a fellow named Rockwell, if I remember correctly. No! Not that Rockwell, nor the other one either.... another one I still have the book, and when I had my F5 I found it useful.
    "Only dead fish follow the stream"

    [APUG Portfolio] [APUG Blog] [Website]

  4. #4
    Anupam Basu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    504
    Images
    20
    Lenses with rabbit ears will mount and meter IF the rabbit ears have holes in them. If the ears are solid, that means they are pre-AI lenses and won't mount.

  5. #5
    Markok765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Posts
    2,270
    Blog Entries
    1
    Images
    24
    So:
    AI lenses: Lenses with 2 sets of aperture numbers. With the F5 I can use AI in manual and Aperture priority With centerweighed or spot.

    Is this correct?
    Marko Kovacevic
    Blog
    Youtube

  6. #6
    Anupam Basu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    504
    Images
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by Markok765 View Post
    Is this correct?
    Yes.

  7. #7
    Markok765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Posts
    2,270
    Blog Entries
    1
    Images
    24
    Yes! Now I know what to look out for when I go lens shopping!
    Marko Kovacevic
    Blog
    Youtube

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, IL
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    1,982
    I use AI lenses on the F5 often. They works fine. Don't have the matrix metering but I don't miss it.

  9. #9
    Poohblah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    433
    every single nikon lens made since 1977 except the fisheyes that receded into the camera body will work.

    all f-mount lenses will mount to the camera body, however, and i think pre-AI lenses can still work with stop-down metering.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Naestved, DK
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    2,337
    Will it also take the G-lenses? I know my F100 will but its newer than the F5.
    Kind regards
    Send from my Electronic Data Management Device using TWOFingerTexting

    Technology distinquishable from magic is insufficiently developed

    Søren Nielsen
    Denmark

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast


 

APUG PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Contact Us  |  Support Us!  |  Advertise  |  Site Terms  |  Archive  —   Search  |  Mobile Device Access  |  RSS  |  Facebook  |  Linkedin