Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,693   Posts: 1,548,971   Online: 823

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A filter is....

Shooter
    35mm

A filter is....

My first post and question but first... Greetings to one and all and...Merry Christmas.

Okay. As a complete novice I'm a little confused at to which UV to buy. I've been told I should by a UV if for no other reason than to protect my lens. But I've just been on Amazon and well, I ran away

Can anyone offer me a little guidance please!

My question is.....What's the difference (apart from price) between......
    A Hoya G or Green series UV.
    A Hoya HMC -UV.
    A Hoya pro digital protector.
    A Hama (coated on both sides) UV.
    A Hama UV HTMC Filter
    A B&W-UV with multi resistant coating.
    A Sigma EX DG Digitally Optimised UV Filter.

Cheers.
    Snaps.

Shooter
    35mm
    IMO the only real differences are in claims of performance and manufacturing technique. Maybe there is something more, but I am unaware of it. It's a pretty benign item so there will be plenty of marketing effort to say why a particular brand is the better choice. The "Hoya pro digital protector" doesn't seem to claim any UV performance, just protection and optical clarity. Quality usually follows price in regard to filters, at least to certain degree.

Oh, welcome to APUG BTW.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Well, now that you mention it, the main difference is - - - price.