Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,489   Posts: 1,542,925   Online: 880

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Lens Mount Question

First off, I'm very new to the SLR scene. I found a Nikkormat FTn on CL for $20 and it came with the standard 50mm f/2 f-mount lens. I was told it was a good deal (not by the seller, but by some other friends online), and probably a much better camera than my Minolta X-700. Needless to say, I got the thing.

I'm looking for a few lenses for it, but I don't understand lens mounting systems and how to look for lenses on the internet or in shops. I know it is a Nikon F-mount, but that's pretty much the extent of my knowledge on this subject.

Can someone help me out and explain lens mounting systems? I'm totally in the dark.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Wow that's a great deal. I have one of those. It's sitting on my desk waiting for me to get off work. As far as lenses go, any of the Nikkor non AF lenses should work, except for the G Lenses.

http://photo.net/photodb/photo?topic...to_sel_index=0
    Last edited by ttown_jeff; 06-30-2009 at 04:23 PM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: update url of photo

Shooter
    Multi Format
    If you want to use full-aperture metering, you'll need a lens which has a "fork" on it (in the preceding post's picture, the thing at about 11 o'clock).
    M6, SL, SL2, R5, P6x7, SL3003, SL35-E, F, F2, FM, FE-2, Varex IIa

Shooter
    Multi Format
    …and now for the good news (It isn’t very often when you kind of question is asked I get to say that). Your Nikkormat FTn (and mine) will take any lens made by Nikon from 1959 on.