Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,968   Posts: 1,523,436   Online: 1000

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Canon Lens Coating Issue

I'm looking to buy a Canon 70-200 f4L from a co-worker but the lens has some weird spots on the front glass (the protective "filter"). I suppose I could get that glass replaced but anyone have any idea what's causing this?

THanks,
    Dan
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_8347.jpg  

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I'm no expert, that looks nearly organic. I won't say fungus....yet, as the fungus I have seen looks a bit more spider webby

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Some kind of etching ?
    Is it realy on the front surface of the frontlens ?
    Having the frontlens replaced could be a tad expensive and I wonder if you would see any effect of it on your photo's.....

Put it onto your camera and see what kind of result you get and if it does not show up at high maginification get it for cheap.

Peter

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Hello fungus my old friend....

Try keeping the lens on a sunny window sill for as long as possible (weeks, months) to kill/stop the growth.
    Try to determine if any inner elements are affected.
    Get an estimate for a clean-up.

A good way to bargain the price down, though.
    M6, SL, SL2, R5, P6x7, SL3003, SL35-E, F, F2, FM, FE-2, Varex IIa

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    As I thought. Fungus is treatable and if caught early enough will not damage the lens.

I have just had one cleaned from fungus. It was there and it was not overly big. It cost me $45Aust. I have to admit, I haven't seen a lens element as clean as the job that I had done!

Mind you, this was an enlarger lens. I could imagine a 70-200L might cost a tad more, especially if then need to get down to the nitty gritty