Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,002   Posts: 1,524,420   Online: 1033

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Olympus om1

Shooter
    35mm

Olympus om1

Hi...just wondering what the general feeling towards om1's here is? I'm still new to photography and am really enjoying using film. I bought an om10 off ebay a while a go and while it's good, certain things like the battery operated shutter are pretty annoying.... ive ruined some shots by having the shutter freeze and made to rookie mistake of not having spare battries.

Anyways.... a mate of mine kept raving about the OM1....saying its hands down the best SLR he's ever owned....so i saw one on ebay for $80 so I bought it.

Just basically wondering what your opinions on the camera are. I'm pretty excited about it.... I've now got an OM1 - and 3 beautiful old zuiko lenses. I think I'm set for a lifetime of photography. While its not good for the general art of film photography....the rise of digital and film's resulting decline in popularity is great for my wallet!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I've had OM SLRs since 1974 when I got my first OM1 (not MD). I still have and use an OM1n, and I've had either an OM1 or an OM1n for almost all of the years since 1974.

If properly cared for and maintained (check the seals, especially for the mirror) I consider them one of the best 35mm SLRs ever.

If you want to use the very good in camera meter you need to deal with the battery requirements of the OM1. It originally took a mercury cell that is no longer produced. There are a number of approaches to dealing with this. I purchased an adapter that allows me to use a currently available silver oxide cell instead.

Don't sell your OM10 - it's great to have more than one body (I have 5 at present ).