Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,707   Posts: 1,548,517   Online: 854

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Plastic Lenses

bvy

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Plastic Lenses

I'm deliberately not placing this in the Toy Camera forum, since the discussions there seem to start and end with Holga and Diana (it's a short list anyway).

Are there any other 35mm cameras that have plastic lens elements and produce at least mild vignetting -- i.e. ones that don't readily fall under the "lomo" label? Maybe a better (if more naive) question is, how can I recognize a plastic lens versus a glass one? The thrift stores have lots of film cameras and most of them are delightfully cheap. But I'm fairly new to film cameras and my appraisal skills are still in their infancy.

I like the look of plastic, and might still resort to one of the aforementioned proper plastic models. But I'd like to get a feel for what else is out there, and just how ubiquitous plastic lenses really are.

Thanks.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Why not just put a piece of plastic over your standard camera lens? Darken the corners with soot for the vignetting signature of high-quality plastic lenses.
    John, Mount Vernon, Virginia USA

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Canon uses plastic lens elements in their consumer grade lenses. But I don't think this is what you meant.

Many of the no-name focus-free cheapie cameras that you'll find in the thrift store will have a plastic lens.

Shooter
    Med. Format Pan
    Disposable camera uses those too. If you use a rangefinder, then pull the lens off a disposable and glue it to a lens mount converter.

Shooter
    Multi Format