Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,916   Posts: 1,521,792   Online: 1075
      
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Las Vegas, NV
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    130

    Nikon F5 focus point lighting?

    I have read that the selected focus point should become black or somehow stand out when selected. Is this only for the EC-B screen? My particular F5 has the EC-E screen (grid lines), and my selected focus point does not "light up" or do anything to make it stand out. I always have to refer to the top LCD to see which point is active. Anybody here know if this should work with the EC-E screen also?

    Jared

  2. #2
    airgunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SE Wisconsin
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    119
    I have the (grid lines) which I think is the E screen (I just can't remember...). Anyway, I replaced the original with this one. On both screens the focus point that is selected is basically black as opposed to the grey of the unselected ones. That function should operate independently of the type of screen that is used.

    Does your work with one screen but not the other?
    WJS/wi/usa

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Las Vegas, NV
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    130
    "Does your work with one screen but not the other?"

    I only have the EC-E screen, not the EC-B (original). I just checked, nada. None of the points turn black, they are all just very thin brackets. I wonder if my F5 is broken?

    Jared

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Las Vegas, NV
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    130
    This is interesting, I found this here:

    http://www.bythom.com/F5.htm

    "The standard EC-B and the accessory EC-E screens have the 'black points,' while accessory B and E don't have it (as well as all the other accessories)."

    I wonder if I have the "accessory" E screen? Whatever that is? All I know is that my camera has grid lines when I look through the view finder. I also noticed that the little orange arrows that indicate the focus point selected to work, but I'd still like to know why the point itself does not turn black.

    Jared

  5. #5
    Marc Akemann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor area, Michigan
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    1,258
    Images
    4
    Does your E screen have electrical connections on one side?

    Marc

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Las Vegas, NV
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    130
    "Does your E screen have electrical connections on one side?"

    I'm not sure, I have not removed it. But, I have been doing some reading through the manual, and it turns out only the EC-* series screens have the lit focus points. They have an EC-B, and a E-type screen listed. The E-type "looks" the same, but does not have the ability to enhance/light the focus points. I bought the camera used from KEH, so whoever owned the camera before me probably changed out the focus screen for the E-type. This sucks for me because the EC-B and E screens are pretty pricey, if you can find one.

    Jared

  7. #7
    Marc Akemann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor area, Michigan
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    1,258
    Images
    4
    KEH has an EC-B in 'Ex' condition for just $19. Might be worth a call, although, it's not the EC-E you really want.
    For what it's worth, everything I've ordered from KEH in 'Ex' condition was in great condition.

    Marc

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Las Vegas, NV
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    130
    "KEH has an EC-B in 'Ex' condition for just $19."

    Yeah, I saw that too. It sure is tempting. B&H charges over $100 for that screen new. I can't even find an EC-E screen for sale. So for anybody wondering, only the EC-B and EC-E screens give the lit focus point capability. I have the "E-Type" screen.

    Jared



 

APUG PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Contact Us  |  Support Us!  |  Advertise  |  Site Terms  |  Archive  —   Search  |  Mobile Device Access  |  RSS  |  Facebook  |  Linkedin