Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,960   Posts: 1,523,093   Online: 979

Page 1 of 8 1234567 ... LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Pentax or Olympus

This is my first post. I have read a lot. There is a lot of information here.
    I am still learning about photography. I have a Canon 7n elan, and a
    Mamiya 645 pro. I would like a manual 35mm camera. I have found a
    good deal on a Pentax K1000 and another one for two cameras, OM1
    and OM2. Would like input from anyone who owns one of the cameras.
    thanks for all response

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Either would be fine. for the money nowadays, you might find a Pentax LX. The K1000 is a very simple camera. The Olympus system is more extensive than Pentax, especially for macro work if you are interested in that. If you already have Canon gear, you could get an F1.
    Jerold Harter MD

Shooter
    35mm
    I tend to go with olympus simply because they focus properly. Pentax normals are better and Olympus wide angles are better.
    f/22 and be there.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Quote Originally Posted by jeroldharter View Post
    If you already have Canon gear, you could get an F1.
    The OP said he has a Canon 7n Elan. This camera uses EF lenses and would not be compatible with an F-1. The F-1 uses FD lenses.
    Bachelor of Fine Arts and Bachelor of Arts: Journalism - University of Arkansas 2014

Canon A-1, Canon AE-1, Canon Canonet GIII 17, Argus 21, Rolleicord Va, Mamiya RB67, Voigtländer Bessa

http://darkroom317.deviantart.com/

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I would go for the OM-1 because of it's smaller size. BTW welcome to APUG!

Jeff

Shooter
    Multi Format
    The K1000 has no DOF preview and the meter is always on (not good if your lens cap is usually off).

The Olympuses have their shutter speeds and diaphragms in the "wrong" place.