Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,206   Posts: 1,531,861   Online: 965

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Question about film scanners and negatives

I'm new to APUG and relatively new to 35mm colour film photography so please excuse if this is a stupid question to ask and/or in the wrong forum xD

I am interested in purchasing a film scanner but wondering what the process is for scanning the negatives? how do you get the negatives in the first place?
    Does the film canister have to be taken to a shop and be processed? Or can you do it all at home with the film scanner?

I sent an email to a company and they said you could do it straight from the camera to printer but I want to clarify this because I was lead to believe film is light sensitive- thats how it works right.

Thanks,
    Bella

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Well welcome. All film will need to be processed wether you set up your own darkroom or bring it to a lab. DO NOT(!!!) Just open up a film cassette because you will ruin the images within....The film scanner is simply a device to get the images into your computer so that you can work with them that way. You amy want to start out by having a lab process and print or process and scan your first few rolls.

Patrick
    Helping to save analog photography one exposure at a time

Shooter
    35mm
    Thanks Patrick
    Also another question,
    Is just getting the negatives processed at a lab cheaper than getting the standard 4x6 prints as well?

Shooter
    35mm
    Quote Originally Posted by bellalee View Post
    Thanks Patrick
    Also another question,
    Is just getting the negatives processed at a lab cheaper than getting the standard 4x6 prints as well?
    Hi Bella,