Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,707   Posts: 1,548,508   Online: 892

noumin

MF-Nikkor 105mm - 2.5 or 2.8 Micro ?

Hi all

There's been a similar discussion recently, but I really like to hear more about what you guys think about the issue, so here it goes :

I want to complement my MF-Nikkor Set with a 105mm lens. I'm doing mostly nature/landscapes and architecture
    with an occasional close-up shot of some details. Now, I know that the 2.5/105mm is a legendary lens which, I think, would serve me very well for general shooting, for close-ups I could use step-up rings. But what about the 2.8/105mm Micro-Nikkor ? I could forget about the step-up rings and use it as an allround lens, but how does it compare to the 2.5/105mm in distances from a few meters up towards infinity ?

Any input is welcome.

Joerg

Shooter
    Medium Format
    i have no experience with 105 2,8 micro, but my 105 2,5 it's a stellar lens, i only wish it was faster, to me 2,5 it´s not that fast sometimes.
    I've been using it as all round lens and its performance is good from close distance to infinity, but i think it shines working with close distances and for a non macro 105mm lens being able to focus a bit less than 1 meter is more than adequate for almost any subject, apart from typical macro stuff.
    I think it depens if you are planning to do heavy macro stuff but if its not your case a 105mm 2,5 will do the job almost any time, and you can purchase an extension tube for those macro moments and use it with any other lens aswell. You will save money and get an astonishing performer.
    I would only substitute my 105mm 2,5 for something faster, knowing i would lose the sharpest nikorr lens in my bag.

Shooter
    Multi Format