Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,522   Posts: 1,543,801   Online: 752

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

EOS-1v: Should I turn it off? (Batt. life)

1v newbie here. I was just wondering if it makes any difference to battery life if it is not switched off when not in use. I keep forgetting to switch it off, since I never do that on my d*****l camera.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Dunno about the 1v but on my Nikons I often forget and leave them on for days, doesn't seem to affect the battery

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Snap - I was just wondering that same thing today (since my shiny "new to me" EOS 1v came in the post this morning)!!

Marc

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Switch camera off and if not use is more than few days, remove battery completely from camera. That is what one should do with any battery powered device. If course if battery is not removable than just switch device off.

If camera is on it will use battery power for LCD if nothing else. And even if camera is off it will drain small amount of power. And some batteries can leak if battery is inside of device which is not used for prolonged period. I forgot to remove batteries (NiMH) from mine bicycle light, light was off and discovered I had to replace 2 of 5 batteries as electrolites leaked out from batteries.

Oposite from digi cameras, analog cameras are workable in a same moment when you switch it on, there is no power lag like with digi cameras, so there is no need not to swtch camera off when not use it.
    Bosnia... You don't have to be crazy to live here, but it helps...
    No things in life should be left unfinis

Shooter
    Multi Format