Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,660   Posts: 1,481,534   Online: 1093

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Canon EOS portrait lens

Hi there

As a happy portrait photographer I'm looking for a prime lens in the 85-135 mm range which has a aperture around 2.8, can anyone give me their opinion on which lens would be a good investment.
    I am interested in both original Canon lenses and lenses from other brands.
    I need it to fit on a Canon EOS bayonet.

Greetings Morten

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    We use the Canon non-L EF 1.8 85mm and it's the most splendid lens I've ever put on a 35mm camera. Often, if I've got the camera and am going shooting for the day and only want to take one lens, I'll take the 85.

Now, I assume you're putting this on a film body. Back when I did digital capture, I found the 85mm combined with the 1.6 field of view crop factor was a bit too long for many portraits, especially studio ones. In that case, I used our other favorite, a Canon EF 28-135 IS. I would have preferred to have something like a 65mm 1.8, but we didn't have one.

I just checked on eBay and someone's got a new one for 359 that looks like it might be a good deal:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...824750245&rd=1

-KwM-

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Ditto. I never take the 85mm 1.8 off my Canon.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Cheryl Jacobs
    Ditto. I never take the 85mm 1.8 off my Canon.
    Ok. I've heard so much good about this rather cheap lens that I'm convinced.
    The many hours of over-time at work will have to pay for this :-)

Thanks!

Morten

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Or just shoot Contax

Buy an adapter from Stephen Gandy at CameraQuest and use the Zeiss 85mm f/1.4.

"What Would Zeus Do?"