Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,286   Posts: 1,535,286   Online: 904

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Dumb Question of the Day

I was wondering why 35mm film has a tapered leader. Why not just cut it off straight across?

(I feel ashamed asking this, since I'm an engineer.)
    "When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro." - HST
    My Flickr Gallery

Shooter
    Multi Format
    my best guess is that it's an attempt at saving a few inches of emulsion per roll.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by yeknom02 View Post
    I was wondering why 35mm film has a tapered leader. Why not just cut it off straight across?

That's the way Oscar Barnack wanted it. BTW, the late model Practika cameras did not require a tapered leader.
    John, Mount Vernon, Virginia USA

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Sharp corners catch on sprockets, film gates and rollers.

Rounding the corners and tapering the ends of the leaders makes them easier to insert into their slots and run through the cameras, processors and/or projectors without the film getting hung up and being destroyed.
    Randy S.

In girum imus nocte et consumimur igni.

-----

http://www.flickr.com/photos/randystankey/

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    My Yashica Lynx has a slot sized for tapered film on the take-up spool, so when I bulk load I always have to cut a little notch in the leader so I can load it. That's probably a product of film having a taper though, rather than a reason for it...

My goal in life, is to be as good a person as my dog already thinks I am.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveR View Post