Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,699   Posts: 1,549,157   Online: 1067

Page 1 of 8 1234567 ... LastLast

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras

Reccommend a 35mm camera to me

Hi everyone

I'm new to analogue photography and I am currently using a medium format camera, however I would love to use 35mm but have no idea where to start! Please excuse my total ignorance. I'd like a simple camera that will get me started in the world of 35mm analogue photography, if anyone can give me any advice at all I would really really appreciate it.

RHG

Shooter
    35mm
    As a reference, what MF camera do you have now? Are you looking for autofocus or manual? Auto exposure - full or limited, or full manual only?

Also, rangefinder (fixed or interchangeable lens) or SLR?
    Last edited by Les Sarile; 09-05-2010 at 09:16 AM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    RHG

Welcome to APUG. Without mentioning your area of photography and if you have a preference for automatic, manual, rangefinder or SLR, these types of requests don't work very well. You will undoubtably get as many recommendations as there are cameras.

Used analog cameras are cheap these days. Pick a name-brand model and start with the focal length equivalent of what you used with your MF camera. There isn't much you can do wrong and the financial investment will be small. If you don't like it, you can sell it again.

Now watch and see how everyone promotes what they use or have:
    Last edited by RalphLambrecht; 09-05-2010 at 08:36 AM. Click to view previous post history.
    Regards

Ralph W. Lambrecht
    www.darkroomagic.comrorrlambrec@ymail.com[/URL]
    www.waybeyondmonochrome.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome To APUG,

Hi R.H.G.,

I'm leaving to go on vacation in a few minutes.
    I would recommend any of the Minolta cameras,