Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,925   Posts: 1,556,800   Online: 977

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Canon A1

Shooter
    35mm

Canon A1

Good afternoon to fellow forum members.

I have been using digital Canon 40D for a few years now and I have being drawn back to analog photography. I have been struggling with this for a while and i was recently offered a Canon A1 with a couple of lenses

Canon FD 50mm

Canon FD 135mm

Tamron 70-210 zoom

This camera has been in storage since 1990 and I am tempted to have a look at it this weekend. Price asked is about $275 including a couple of old light meters and a bag. I am told the battery was removed from the camera when it was put into storage, and it may need to be dusted off.

I know it a cracking camera and I have been reading up on some of the problems that can occur with them. Are there any particular tests I need to consider when i view it...and is it in the money at $275..?

I am looking forward to learning the skills of analogue.. the 40D will have to take second best for a while

Thanks
    Paul

Shooter
    35mm
    Depending on condition, functionality and the lens specs, the price seems very good since KEH sells just the body alone for around that. If you have the opportunity to test it with a roll then it will be an even safer purchase. As I understand it, these cameras can develop the "squeeking shutter" syndrome which requires a CLA, so pay attention to the sound when you release the shutter. Canon put a whole system around these era cameras and given it's success, there are still an abundance of accessories around for it if you want to expand.

Shooter
    35mm
    Shutter squeak is annoying but it will still function.