Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,902   Posts: 1,521,182   Online: 1126
      
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    80

    F3HP Film Advance not working

    Hello -

    After taking a shot, my film lever advance is stuck. I've swapped batteries, I've removed the film, I've tried firing it with the lever that also houses the exposure lock. All does not allow me to advance the film.

    Any help?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    128
    Presumably you've pushed the film rewind button on the bottom of the camera? And multiple exposure lever? Does everything look copacetic in the mirror box area? Sometimes a wayward focus screen will cause a jam. Perhaps open the film door and manually (gently) turn the take-up spool. Inspect the innards/film transport for a broken piece of film.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    80
    So here are videos of me trying to document my stuck film advance.

    Video I:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/39640248@N07/5930878560

    Video II
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/39640248@N07/5930325699

  4. #4
    Nicholas Lindan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    2,372
    Images
    4
    The F3 (TTBOMK) has an electronic release. Try removing the batteries and waiting a few minutes.

    Try raising the mirror my hand. Then play with releases and wind levers. Try fiddling the sprockets while depressing the rewind button. See that the motor wind interconnections are free - try moving the drive wheel back and forth using a pair of needle-nose as a spanner wrench.

    SLRs have all sort of synchronization levers and stuff - sometimes one of them gets out of synchronization and the whole thing gets jammed up. Someone may know the magic sequence to get it unstuck but often just playing with everything can work.

    My mother takes this approach with her TV, DVR and set top box. She calls up and complains "I don't know why it doesn't work, I've pressed every button on all the remotes at least three times and it still won't work...", by this time the menu system is in Romanian and the TV is tuned to community access cable in Tristan da Cunha.
    Last edited by Nicholas Lindan; 07-12-2011 at 12:46 PM. Click to view previous post history.
    DARKROOM AUTOMATION
    f-Stop Timers - Enlarging Meters
    http://www.darkroomautomation.com/da-main.htm

  5. #5
    PDH
    PDH is offline

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    488
    Replace the battery and set the shutter speed to the one manual speed, I dont recall if for the F3 the manual speed is 1/60 or 1/90 or has a seperate setting. I hope I am not confusing the FG with the F3, have not had a F3 for 9 years.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, IL
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    1,936
    If it's battery related the F3 should work fine with the mechnical shutter release and only with the mechanical shutter release. The regular shutter release is purely electronic and won't work at all without battery no matter how you set the shutter dial. I suspect that there is a problem with either the mirror or shutter curtain. Sometimes the mirror doesn't go up all the way which won't start releasing the shutter. Sometimes the shutter started but not complete its cycle. In either case no film advance is possible. First open the back and remove the lens. Check to see if the mirror is up or down? is it up all the way? How is the shutter? is is close or open? halfway travel?? With those information we can help you more.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    80
    have put in new batteries. I set to 1/60. I tried releasing manually with the manual release switch. No go.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montgomery, Il/USA
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    4,995
    Did it release when you were winding the sprocket? It sounded as though it did.
    The majority of the advance stuff is on the top and if I recall correctly just one lever on the bottom. So remove the bottom.
    On the wind side there's a long lever that goes toward the center of the camera. This lever actually cocks the shutter..Try cocking it
    if it cocks that way AND NOW RELEASES. try to advance it. If it doesn't release, it could be something as simple as a screw that has come loose
    and jammed the gears up top.
    Heavily sedated for your protection.

  9. #9
    FRM
    FRM is offline

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    6
    In 2001, I removed the motor drive from my F3 for the first time in about 17 years. I wanted to cut down on its weight for a trip.

    The film advance mechanism jammed while in Istanbul (forcing me to shoot everything with my 20 year old FM). I am sure I had read somewhere of people removing the motor drive after a long period of use only to have the film advance mess up.

    My F3 had to go in for repairs. You may have to do the same.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    80
    thanks for suggestions, guys.

    It goes to the repair shop today. Since I just bought it, the seller wants me to have it checked out first by a professional, otherwise he wants it sent back to him to check it out.

    I figure I don't want to mess things up. And I want my own guy to figure out what's wrong with the camera. I plan on taking this camera on my honeymoon in 3 weeks.



 

APUG PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Contact Us  |  Support Us!  |  Advertise  |  Site Terms  |  Archive  —   Search  |  Mobile Device Access  |  RSS  |  Facebook  |  Linkedin