Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,837   Posts: 1,582,466   Online: 757

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Nikon SLR for Long exposures

Hi everyone!

Since I'm on a tight budget and I can't afford getting a good RF and a new wide angle for my Nikon DSLR, I thought I might combine needs, and get a (smaller than my dslr) 35mm Nikon SLR and a 20mm AF-D lens with it

I'm mostly active during the night and I'd love to have a try at Star Trails on film, so long exposures is a must. So is support for AF-D lenses. Aperture priority could be a nice feature to have as well.

As you probably guessed I'm new to film, if I use a film that is faster than the max speed on the camera, I get the meter reading and just compensate with shutter/aperture by the number of stops required?

Also when someone says "I've pushed ASA400 film to ASA800" what does that mean? Did they just double the exposure or does it have a mechanical implication in the camera?
    It'll be my first time with MF so a bright and clear VF is in order :P

I've been looking at the Nikon FG, FG-20 and EM as they are cheaper than the others. What could be a better investment?
    Last edited by SunnyHours; 07-26-2011 at 08:22 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    35mm