Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,914   Posts: 1,584,699   Online: 709

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Minolta SRT-101 meter accuracy for slides

Hello! I've been shooting film for the past 6 months and I've been enjoying it quite a bit. While digital is fun, it's always nice to go back to film. With film I find myself paying much more attention to composition than with digital. I've been shooting print film all this time and while they're OK, I want to move up to using slides. I've been using a Minolta SRT-101 with a working meter and I'd like to know if it's good enough for slides. I haven't checked if it's 100% accurate but the exposure readings it gives me do make sense. Can I just copy the settings that the meter wants and get good exposures or do I have to do stuff like using the zone system? I'm planning on shooting Velvia and Provia.

Thanks!
    Last edited by Kugerfang; 09-15-2011 at 02:56 PM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: grammar

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Kabayan!

ath
    Shooter
    35mm
    Well, you will have to try.
    A generation of photographers did exactly this, exposing slides with cameras and meters like your SRT.

But:
    - the camera is old and has a mechanical shutter; the times may be off, maybe not detectable with prints from negative film (very forgiving)
    - the meter is old and may be off as well for several reasons: aging of the metering cell and calibration potis, yellowing glue on the prism, maybe wrong battery.

FWIW my two SRT's did benefit from a slight lube and a recalibration of the meter. The meters were quite far off.

Another quirk is the CLC metering, a kind of early (2 zone) multizone metering. Personally I don't like it.