Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,931   Posts: 1,585,450   Online: 1088

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Need some advice on getting started with Nikon FM

Hi i am new to 35mm photography and would like some advice. I just bought a near mint Nikon FM camera and i have a Nikon 50mm 1.8 AF lens that will work on it. At first i just want to take some B&W pictures with film and send them off to have developed. I guess we can still do that at least through the mail. I live in Indiana what film should i buy it will be for day time outside shooting ? And any other advice is welcome Thanks

Shooter
    35mm
    Kodak T-MAX 400 is a very nice film for a beginner and the 400 speed makes it versatile.

And also Fuji Neopan 400 is good.

I dont know a lot about Ilford.

And maybe after a while you should look into buying a light meter.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Kodak Tri-X and and Ilford HP5 are far more forgiving for exposure errors.

Maybe start with them to get encouraging results and then move on to T-Max or Neopan to fine-tune your exposure skills.

Later on you could consider using slower film (around ISO 100), but a good rule is to get to know a film well before changing to another.

You could eventually consider developing your negatives at home (apart from chemicals, you need a developing tank, a thermometer and a room you can darken) and possibly scan them (wet printing would be ideal, but is more complicated and needs more equipment).
    M6, SL, SL2, R5, P6x7, SL3003, SL35-E, F, F2, FM, FE-2, Varex IIa

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images