Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,911   Posts: 1,584,676   Online: 816

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Hi from an Aussie photography student

Hi everyone,

My dad (APUG user gerardf) told me of your great site to get some experience, views and opinions about art and photography.

I'm a high school student from Melbourne Australia and would like to study photography full time with aview to becoming a photo-journalist.

From reading dad's books and the internet generally, I can see that I need to ask lots of questions.

I have an assignment:- "Codes of Practice - Working Practices and Systems in Photography"

within:- "Weddings, portraiture, scientific, illustrative, photojournalism"

I'm not asking for anyone to do this for me but I would really appreciate some feedback/opinions/experience with your working practices, experiences, anecdotes, working systems with the above fields. I figured that the best way to write this assignment was to ASK those with experience (I'm 17yo!)

Hope this is OK with you guys...

Chyna

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi from.. Melbourne

as a hobbiest, can't help you with your question though

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Chyna,

Welcome to APUG! Glad your here. Go for it! Study photography, become a photojournalist, and don't let anyone dissuade you.

What I am about to write is only my opinion and you should take it as that: just someone's opinion. First, I work professionally for a wedding photography studio in Chicago. Codes of practice for photographers with in it are this:

1. Whatever the bride wants she gets.
    2. When people put on formal wear their brains fly out the window. For some reason, fancy dresses and tuxedos make people forget how to listen, concentrate, and smile.
    3. There's no reasoning with a drunk person.