Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,553   Posts: 1,544,958   Online: 771

Shooter
    35mm

Side by Side from London

My first post, hi all.

I have been photographing people for 40 years this year. Hardly mid-life crisis but I have this yearning and I am getting back to film. After digital shooting for the last 18 years I now find myself going through a re-learning curve.

There is not reason why digital and film can't sit side by side, lighting a subject is not 'generally' subject to the recording media. Shoot digital and you can 'process' from RAW and simulate the same, and more, technical enhancements gained in the darkroom. The only real difference as I see it is the time difference. To instantly review what you have shot or wait for the wet process to be completed.

Almost anyone can shoot digital. I shoot tens of thousands of pictures each year and often 'amend' what I see on the screen. Even though, when asked to take pictures, I have a good idea in my head as to what they will look like I only shoot RAW so I can and often do use my experience to software modify the shoot results. The convenience of digital allows me to 'change my mind'.

Having said that; there is something beautiful about film and the craft of using it to produce that finished print, that is not there in digital. And I miss that.

When I started I used a Nikon F, later also a Hasselblad, learnt to look at the light around me, judged the correct exposure based on the ASA and banged away. I remember the excitement of returning to the lab to look at my freshly processed contacts or trany's. I also remember building a relationship with the lab technicians in that they would share the review process and we would engage about the shoot, something long gone with the advent of digital. And I miss that.