Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,821   Posts: 1,581,705   Online: 965

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hey from Casey

Shooter
    35mm

Hey from Casey

Hi, i have recently become interested in film cameras, i own a canon 1000d and have been using it for a little while....My brother on the other hand loves film cameras, and he has now got me into them too.
    This may sound stupid but i love the "not knowing" part of it...the excitement of finding out if you got the shot or just to see how it ended up turning out.
    So about me... i'm 25, a girl, and i'm from Australia....i'm in love with black and white photography and also i love to take people shots. i hope to purchase my first film camera soon ( i'm still learning whats what).
    bye for now from Casey.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to APUG, Casey.

That's about the most honest introduction I can remember. Well done.

Can you tell us what you've been doing with your camera recently? And which film camera you might hope to purchase?

That "not knowing" part is one of the most exquisite pleasures of film photography. We all enjoy that. It's also an excellent taskmaster because it will force you to really learn how to use a camera since there is no instant feedback.

Enjoy your stay...

Ken
    "They are the proof that something was there and no longer is. Like a stain. And the stillness of them is boggling. You can turn away but when you come back they’ll still be there looking at you."

— Diane Arbus, March 15, 1971, in response to a request for a brief statement about photographs

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    Welcome to Apug! Is is that wonder and mystery yet symmetry (and sometimes lack thereof) with the camera/materials that keeps me so thrilled with analog! You will have a ball, welcome!
    Andy

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi Casey,