Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,692   Posts: 1,548,957   Online: 761

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Tacoma, Washington reporting in

Hi everyone,

It's good to finally find a strong digital free community. I've been shooting film in 35mm, 6x6cm and 4x5 for about 20 years. I'm still a hack but getting slowly better. I shoot B&W only because I can't afford to shoot color and have it processed. I hope to learn from you all on the subjects of exposure, processing and printing. I think my artistic compositional 'skills' are beyond hope. Every once in a while I make a nice picture. Sort of like a broken clock is right twice a day.

I tried to be a member in good standing of photosig.com but found it populated by digital newbies who wouldn't know an aperture from an ASA rating. These folks look at grain and call it 'noise'. They ask questions like 'it looks OK in B&W, but can you please post the original color?" They brag about the way a submitted photo was manipulated in Photoshop to mask incompetency with the actual digital 'camera'.

When asked what sort of film was used when submitting a picture. The film camera people answer the question because they are using FILM. The digital people are supposed to ignore the question because they are not using film. Instead, they populate the film database with things like the manufacturer of their generic memory, the size of that memory... etc That would be like responding to the question, "What film did you use?" with "36 exposure roll". As if a 24 exposure roll of film gave you a different sort of image. Digital people just don't get it and I got tired of the ignorance. I hope I'm not stepping on any toes here. If I do then please let me know.

Enough ranting. So now I'm flying into the arms of a film community. Geez, I'm getting warm fuzzies already

Shooter