Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,501   Posts: 1,543,340   Online: 916

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras

Clueless Film Noob

Hey, just your (below) average film noob here and thought I'd introduce myself since I'm probably gonna have lots of dumb questions. So I really have no film experience, save a Canon Elph APS 370z that I had in the 90's and more recently a Superheadz Slim and Wide that I picked up last year (fun, plastic camera). I've been a digital shooter for over 10 years now, but after picking up the Superheadz, I started to think about picking up something that I could actually control but never got around to it. Unfortunately it came up again when my Canon 1DIV got stolen from the trunk of my car just before Christmas last year and I was without a camera for a couple of months. During that time I pulled my dad's old camera stuff out of storage and started messing around with it. It was an old Nikon F2 that had belonged to my grandfather before my father and that my dad used to take pics of my sister and I growing up. I remember that I hated sitting still for all those pics and now I'm the one taking the pics. I did pick up a Canon 1DX to replace my stolen cam and got sidetracked again, but have recently been looking at film once again. I doubt that F2 will ever replace my 1DX, but I feel like I need to at least explore the film world. My dad also noticed me messing around with his old stuff and went to grab my late uncle's photo stuff for me to look at and I've now inherited a Mamiya RB67 Professional to play with. So after putting it off for months, I finally sent my F2 out to get "Soverized" and am looking forward to getting that back. I think I do need to have someone look at the lenses I have, though, since they could probably use some servicing. For the Mamiya, it could use some TLC since it's got all s