Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,650   Posts: 1,481,302   Online: 832

Shypii90

hey I'm still new to APUG

hey everyone

I just registered with APUG yesterday and I'm still getting used to it. Lately i've been developing a big interest for film photography and everything to do with it. I only use a digital compact camera at the moment because I don't have money to invest in a darkroom and i want to get a 35mm film camera but i really don't know what type to get. For the most part i'm still 80% clueless about knowing how to set up a darkroom, and I'm not even sure what exposures and apertures to use for film cameras as i'm still too used to setting everything on digital and that may vary from digital to film cameras.

Any starting out advice in film photography will be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Shypii90

Shooter
    35mm RF
    For really basic advice try The Photo School at www.rogerandfrances.com; go to (surprise!) Basics in The Photo School. Basics (and plenty more) are entirely free; there are paid-for bits as well but there's also a great deal of free stuff. You'll also find Welcome to Film, for example, and Our Darkrooms, and more.

Where in Malta are you? I lived there for 4 years as a boy in the 50s; my brother has dual Maltese/British nationality because he was born there; and it's one of my favourite places in the whole world. I even speak about 15 words of Maltese, though my favourite words are the ones I'm still trying to learn to pronounce, like dqiq; I can do a tolerable job with qaqocc and I always call courgettes qara baghli (sorry, no Maltese diacritical marks).

Cheers,

Roger

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Shypii90, welcome from Hawaii. I would second Roger's recommendation - he has a wealth of information there to help.
    Robert M. Teague
    www.visionlandscapes.com