Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,484   Posts: 1,571,276   Online: 1042

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm RF

Greetings from Mesa, Arizona

Hello All

I heard about APUG when I started listening to Brooks Jensen's Podcasts. I'm so glad I found these forums.

My journey in photography actually started when my father shot some film while he was in Europe during WWII. He took the images to send back to my mother. I don't know when she saw them, but I still have the small b&w prints he took then. After the war, he worked for General Aniline in Linden, NJ (later to become GAF). He bought lots of film there and put many many rolls of film through an old TLR he brought back from Europe (where that camera is now, I have no idea).

When I reached undergraduate school, I studied B&W photography with Klaus Schnitzer (who is well known for his photography of cars, most especially BMW cars). I am sure he would remember me as an indifferent student, but photography really turned me on. I built a darkroom in my parents' basement and started to acquire Canon equipment, starting with an Ftb (which I still own and shoot to this day). After a while I owned a couple bodies, a handful of lenses, and made extra money part-time shooting actor's head shots and publicity for theater companies all over New Jersey. I processed hundreds of rolls of FP4 developed in Edwal FG7 and printed on Ilford Multigrade. Klaus influenced my taste a great deal and he wasn't much of a Kodak guy.

Once I graduated and started to make a living, photography became more of a hobby and I began to shoot mainly color slides. I moved out of my parent's home and lost touch with the B&W work mainly because easy access to the darkroom had also been lost.

By the time I hit forty, I hardly ever shot any longer and sold most of my equipment, keeping only my Gitzo tripod and the Ftb.